Got it!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website More info

One source of biofuels has been identified as marine biomass or marine algae. Many researchers are working on the feasibility of using algae as a feedstock for producing bio-fuels. One example of biofuel from marine algae would be the conversion of Marine biomass to methane via anaerobic digestion, which can generate electricity. Another potential for algae is its potential for biodiesel.

One great characteristic of micro-algae is that it doesn’t rely on soil and land. They thrive in water which is salty or dirty. Therefore, they do not need fresh water resources. Algae also have high growth rates, good growth densities which also makes them a good source for biofuels. Algae can be grown in a variety of climates and in different types of production methods. These can be from photo bioreactors, ponds and fermenters.

The conference aims to explore the challenges and opportunities in the area of marine algae as a source of biofuel. It will highlight the recent developments in research areas such as cultivation of marine algae and research & devel-opment of algal—biofuel production.

Orgainizing committee

Dr Christopher Chuck

University of Bath, UK

Ms Ditipriya Das


Dr Ian Watson

University of Glasgow, UK

Technical Advisory Panel

  • Dr Mike Allen, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK
  • Dr Christopher Chuck, University of Bath, UK
  • Prof John Day, Scottish Association for Marine Science/University of the Highlands & Islands
  • Prof Kevin Flynn, Swansea University, UK
  • Mr Bert Groenendaal, Sioen Industries N.V, Netherlands
  • Prof John Love, University of Exeter, UK
  • Dr Jagroop Pandhal, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Prof Saul Purton, University College London , UK
  • Dr Olga Sayanova, Rothamsted Research, UK
  • Mr Wolfgang Schuster, Marenate, Germany
  • Dr Ian Watson, University of Glasgow, UK

Key Dates

  • Abstract deadline

    29th September 2017

  • Abstract acceptance

    30th November 2017

  • Full paper submission

    31st January 2018

  • Registration close

    23rd February 2018